

UArctic Assembly Meeting / Bodø, Norway / June 2024

Agenda item: 5.3

Proposal – Approval of new Non-Arctic Members of UArctic

Proposal: The UArctic Membership Committee proposes that the Assembly makes the following decisions:

- a) The Assembly accepts the following applicants as Non-Arctic / Higher Education Institution members of the UArctic:
 - Kerala University of Fisheries and Ocean Studies, India
 - Royal College of Art, United Kingdom
 - University of Hull, United Kingdom
 - University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
 - University of Stirling, United Kingdom
 - University of Westminster, United Kingdom
 - Xiamen University, China
- b) The Assembly accepts the following applicants as Non-Arctic / Other members of the UArctic:
 - Central Council for Research in Ayurvedic Sciences (CCRAS), India
 - Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH), India
 - Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM), India
 - International Centre for Polar Studies, Mahatma Gandhi University, India
 - Network of Arctic Researchers, Ireland (NARI), Ireland
 - Polar and Marine Research Institute, Jimei University, China
 - Scotland's Rural College, United Kingdom

<u>References:</u> <u>UArctic Constitution</u> / Article 3 – Members

<u>UArctic Bylaws</u> / Sections 2.1 to 2.4 – Membership Structure

Summary of New Member Applicants 2024

Applicants:

By the membership application deadline in February 2024, the UArctic International Secretariat received eighteen (18) membership applications, including five Arctic member and thirteen Non-Arctic member applications. In addition, one Non-Arctic member application was deferred from last year to this year's vote. One of this year's application was from a former member.

Following an extensive review, the UArctic Membership committee nominated the following fourteen applicants to the category of Non-Arctic Member of UArctic; of which seven are Higher Education Institutions and seven are other institutions.



Below each institutional name is hyperlinked to a copy of the application support letter and member profile received.

2024 Arctic Member applicants – Higher Education Institutions:

- 1. Kerala University of Fisheries and Ocean Studies, India
- 2. Royal College of Art, United Kingdom
- 3. University of Hull, United Kingdom
- 4. <u>University of Liverpool</u>, United Kingdom
- 5. University of Stirling, United Kingdom
- 6. <u>University of Westminster</u>, United Kingdom
- 7. Xiamen University, China

2023 Arctic Member applicants – Other institutions

- 1. Central Council for Research in Ayurvedic Sciences (CCRAS), India
- 2. Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH), India
- 3. Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM), India
- 4. International Centre for Polar Studies, Mahatma Gandhi University, India
- 5. Network of Arctic Researchers, Ireland (NARI), Ireland
- 6. Polar and Marine Research Institute, Jimei University, China
- 7. Scotland's Rural College, United Kingdom

Rationale:

UArctic Bylaws, section 2.1 – UArctic Membership:

UArctic has two membership categories:

- 1. Arctic Members
- 2. Non-Arctic Members

Within each membership category, there are two member types:

- i. Higher Education Institutions
- ii. Other Organizations

Acting on new applications for UArctic membership, the Assembly of UArctic decides on the category and type for each new member, based on recommendations from UArctic's Membership Committee - -.