

# UArctic Assembly Meeting / Bodø, Norway / June 2024

Agenda item: 11

# **Proposal – Election of Nominations Committee Member**

**Proposal:** The Nominations Committee proposes that the Assembly makes the following decision:

Assembly elects **Lindsay Whaley** as Chair of the Nominations Committee for a three-year term

(2024-27).

References: <u>UArctic Constitution</u> / Article 10 – Annual Assembly

<u>UArctic Bylaws</u> / Sections: 3.1.3 – Committees of the Assembly; 3.1.6 – Nominations

Committee

CV – Lindsay Whaley

## **Current membership of the Nominations Committee:**

Liisa Holmberg, Chair 1<sup>st</sup> term (2021-24) <u>International Sámi Film Institute</u>, Norway

Mauri Ylä-Kotola 2<sup>nd</sup> term (2022-25) <u>University of Lapland</u>, Finland

Gail Fondahl 2<sup>nd</sup> term (2023-26) <u>University of Northern British Columbia</u>, Canada

Sven Haakanson Jr 2<sup>nd</sup> term (2023-26) <u>University of Washington</u>, USA

Laila Hedegaard Pedersen 1<sup>st</sup> term (2023-26) <u>Ilisimatusarfik / University of Greenland</u>,

Greenland

#### **Background:**

The term of Liisa Holmberg, the Chair of Nominations Committee is ending in the Assembly meeting 2024. The Nominations Committee has decided to nominate her as the Assembly Chair for three-year term 2024-27, and therefore she cannot continue for a second term in the Nominations Committee. The position of Chair of the Committee is vacant.

In their meeting in April 2024, the Board decided to nominate Lindsay Whaley of Dartmouth College as the Chair of the Nominations Committee for a three-year term. In making their decision, the Board noted his long service in different UArctic position, and how valuable this kind of experience is in the Nominations Committee.

#### **Nominated Candidate:**

Lindsay Whaley Lindsay Whaley is a Professor of Classics and Linguistics at the Dartmouth

College. He has served as a Board member in 2013-16, as Council/Assembly Secretary in 2017-21, as Assembly Vice-Chair in 2021-22 and as Assembly Chair

in 2022-24.



### **Rationale:**

UArctic Constitution, 10 Article – Annual Assembly:

The annual Assembly shall set up the Nominations Committee and may set up other standing committees for the preparation of the association's matters.

UArctic Bylaws, section 3.1.3 – Committees of the Assembly:

The Committees of the Assembly are the Membership Committee and Nominations Committee. Together, the Officers of the Assembly and the chairs of individual Committees form the Assembly Executive Committee (Toyon). --

When a new committee is formed, the chair and members are appointed by the Chair of the Assembly based on Assembly nominations.

UArctic Bylaws, section 3.1.6 – Nominations Committee:

Each member of the Nominations Committee is elected by the Assembly from slates of nominees prepared by the Board. - - Each committee member is elected for a three-year term, renewable once.