

# UArctic Assembly Meeting / Bodø, Norway / June 2024

# Agenda item: 6.1

## **Proposal – Election of Board Members**

- **Proposal:** The UArctic Nominations Committee proposes that the Assembly makes the following decisions:
  - a) The Assembly accepts the nomination and elects **Barbara Will** as member of the Board of UArctic for a three-year term (2024-2027).
  - *b)* The Assembly accepts the nomination and elects **Tore Furevik** as member of the Board of UArctic for his second three-year term (2024-2027).
  - c) The Assembly accepts the nomination and elects **Johanna Ikäheimo** as member of the Board of UArctic for her second three-year term (2024-2027).
  - d) The Assembly accepts the nomination and elects **Pat Pitney** as member of the Board of UArctic for her second three-year term (2024-2027).
  - e) The Assembly accepts the nomination and elects **Anne Husebekk** as member of the Board of UArctic for her third and final three-year term (2024-2027).
- **References:** UArctic Constitution / Articles: 5 Governance and Administration; 10 Annual Assembly

<u>UArctic Bylaws</u> / Sections: 4 – UArctic Board; 4.2 – Election of the Board

Statement of Motivation – Barbara Will

## **Background:**

The members of the Board are elected by the Assembly from slates of nominees prepared by the Nominations Committee. Nominations may also be made by any member representative at any Assembly in which a Board election takes place. In Board elections, the aim shall be to seek a gender balance and a regional distribution of members, where at least one member shall be from an Arctic Indigenous people within the Circumpolar North.

On candidate evaluations: UArctic's Nominations Committee members discussed strategies for filling vacancies, and reviewed the performance of the Board members ending their terms. Following an evaluation of potential candidates, Committee members prepared a final slate of the following nomination candidates.

In June 2024, the Board members **Tore Furevik**, **Johanna Ikäheimo** and **Pat Pitney** will end their 1<sup>st</sup> terms at the UArctic Board, and are all eligible for a 2<sup>nd</sup> term. At the same time, **Ross Virginia** and **Anne Husebekk** will end their 2<sup>nd</sup> terms. As Anne Husebekk is serving as the Vice-Chair of the Board and Chair of the Board's Philanthropic Fundraising Advisory Group, she is eligible for a 3<sup>rd</sup> term. However, Ross Virginia is can't be elected any more.



The Nominations Committee reviewed the performance of Tore Furevik, Johanna Ikäheimo, Pat Pitney and Anne Husebekk, and unanimously supported electing them for three-year terms at the Board. They all have confirmed their interest in continuing at the Board for  $2^{nd}/3^{rd}$  term.

To fill the vacancy after Ross Virginia, the Nominations Committee decided to approach Dartmouth University to find a possible candidate to the Board. Dartmouth University nominated Barbara Will as the candidate, and the Nominations Committee unanimously supported electing her for a three-year term at the Board.

The Nominations Committee decided to leave three vacancies open in the Board.

## **Nominated Candidates:**

| Barbara Will     | Dr. Barbara Will is the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at the Dartmouth College<br>and a Professor of English. She holds extensive experience on university<br>administration at Dartmouth, and is an accomplished scholar in the field of<br>twentieth-century literature, culture and history. |  |
|------------------|---|--|
| Tore Furevik     | Tore Furevik is the Director of Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center and professor at the Geophysical Institute of the University of Bergen.  |  |
| Johanna Ikäheimo | Johanna Ikäheimo is the Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of Lappset Group<br>Ltd.   |  |
| Pat Pitney       | Pat Pitney is the President of the University of Alaska system  |  |
| Anne Husebekk    | Anne Husebekk is the head of the Center for Oceans and the Arctic at the UiT The<br>Arctic University of Norway.  |  |

#### **Current members on the Board of UArctic:**

| Frederik Paulsen (Chair)       | Switzerland | 1 <sup>st</sup> term as Chair (2022-25), Board member 2017-22 |
|--------------------------------|-------------|---|
| Jouko Niinimäki (Vice-Chair I) | Finland     | 3 <sup>rd</sup> term 2022-25                                  |
| Anne Husebekk (Vice-Chair II)  | ) Norway    | 2 <sup>nd</sup> term 2021-24                                  |
| Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn     | Sweden      | 1 <sup>st</sup> term 2022-25                                  |
| Lesley Brown                   | Canada      | 1 <sup>st</sup> term 2023-26                                  |
| Aaja Chemnitz                  | Greenland   | 1 <sup>st</sup> term 2022-25                                  |
| Tore Furevik                   | Norway      | 1 <sup>st</sup> term 2021-24                                  |
| Magnús Tumi Guðmundsson        | Iceland     | 2 <sup>nd</sup> term 2022-25                                  |
| Johanna Ikäheimo               | Finland     | 1 <sup>st</sup> term 2021-24                                  |
| Pat Pitney                     | USA         | 1 <sup>st</sup> term 2021-24                                  |
| Robert Sauvé                   | Canada      | 2 <sup>nd</sup> term 2022-25                                  |
| Ross Virginia                  | USA         | 2 <sup>nd</sup> term 2021-24                                  |

## Rationale:

UArctic Constitution, Article 5 – Governance and administration:

The annual Assembly of the association shall elect the Board. - -



In Board elections, the aim shall be to seek a regional distribution of members, and at least one member shall be from an Arctic Indigenous people within the Circumpolar North.

#### UArctic Bylaws, section 4 – UArctic Board

Each member of the Board serves a three-year term, and each term shall commence and conclude at the corresponding annual Assembly.

Following a review by the Nominations Committee, each member of the Board is eligible for reelection for a second term. The Board Chair and members having served as Board Officers, again following a review by the Nominations Committee, are eligible for re-election to the Board for a third and final term.

## UArctic Bylaws, section 4.2 - Election of the Board

The Chair, members and student representatives of the Board are elected by the Assembly from slates of nominees prepared by the Nominations Committee. Nominations may also be made by any member representative at any Assembly in which a Board election takes place. - -

The election of Board Chair, members and student representative by the Assembly requires support by more than half the votes cast. If votes are equal, election is resolved by the casting of lots.

Nominees to the Board should have the following qualifications:

- commitment to the mission and values of UArctic
- personal integrity
- freedom from conflicts of interest
- demonstrated judgement
- willingness to commit time and energy to UArctic
- high credibility with key UArctic constituencies
- not personally bankrupt

As a group, the Board should reflect the following qualities:

- sensitivity to the concerns of the major Arctic constituencies
- understanding of UArctic's mission and values
- awareness of educational needs in the Arctic
- knowledge of major Arctic trends
- professional experience in higher education, business, law, or public service
- understanding of fiduciary responsibilities of the Board
- access to public and private funding sources