The Academia Borealis, the Academy of Sciences and Letters of Northern Norway, Tromsø Research Foundation, and the Arctic University of Norway award the Mohn Prize every other year to scientists who are international leaders in Arctic research and have developed groundbreaking new knowledge about the region.

Walsh, chief scientist at the UAF International Arctic Research Center, is the first U.S. scientist to receive the prize. He has had a long and distinguished career studying Arctic climate variability and is one of the world’s leading Arctic climate change experts.

The Mohn Prize steering committee stated in its award announcement that members unanimously view Walsh as an “influential generator of new, groundbreaking knowledge about the changing Arctic climate system that is simultaneously creative, practical, and of high public value beyond the scientific community.”

For more information, go to:
UAF News and Announcements

For questions, contact:
Heather McFarland
Phone: 907-474-6286