The meeting discussed the past cooperation and ideas for future development. One of the key items was the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between ScAN and UArctic ry, establishing the Scottish Arctic Network as a UArctic Regional Centre. The purpose of the MOU is to establish a working relationship of mutual collaboration between the Parties for a long-term collaboration, and to define the responsibilities and functions of the Scottish Arctic Network in the role of a Regional Centre. The scope of the MOU covers the activities of UArctic and its members in Scotland. The activities covered by the MOU are intended to provide support to those members to facilitate their UArctic- related activities, and to foster dialogue and cooperation between UArctic members in Scotland and its UArctic members.

Currently there are nine UArctic members, and three more have applied for membership, to be approved by the Assembly in May 2023. As ScAN has been approved as host of the IASC Arctic Science Summit Week in 2014, the Regional Centre will be actively involved in the planning and organization.

Dr Finlo Cottier from UHI has acted as Chair of ScAN since its establishment. The leadership of ScAN and the UArctic Regional Centre was moved from UHI to University of Aberdeen with Dr Daria Shapovalova as the incoming Chair. She is Senior Lecturer in Energy Law, Co-Director of the Aberdeen University Centre for Energy Law and Coordinator of the Just Transition Lab at the School of Law, University of Aberdeen. UArctic welcomes Daria as Director of the Scottish UArctic Regional Centre!

Finlo Cottier and Daria Shapovalova

Photo: Finlo Cottier and Daria Shapovalova