University of the Faroe Islands


The University of the Faroe Islands was founded in 1965 under the Latin name Academia Færoensis.

The institution is the primary higher education and research institution in the Faroe Islands, the nation’s only university and its foremost knowledge centre. It undertakes research and research-based teaching, providing for synergy between research and teaching, to serve the evolving needs and priorities of the Faroes and their wider region.

The University, which plays a vital role in Faroese society, currently has some 100 academic staff (full-time equivalents), some 60 staff in support and service positions, and around 1,000 students.

The University is comprised of a central administration and five faculties: the Faculty of Faroese Language and Literature, the Faculty of Education, the Faculty of History and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Science and Technology and the Faculty of Health Sciences. Furthermore there are five research centres at the University within: Faroese Language Technology, Law and Legal Research, ocean modelling, health and a geospatial centre.

The University’s Strategic Plan 2020-2024 provides a fresh statement of the University´s mission, together with a vision of a well-integrated, modern, professional university, working in partnership and in collaboration, to serve the evolving needs of the Faroe Islands and the wider region.

Facts and figures

Year Established 1965
Total Number of Staff 160
Number of Academic Staff 100
Number of Students 1000
Focus Areas

Faroese Language and Literature
History and Social Sciences
Health Sciences
Science and Technology

Fields of Study Offered Teacher training and education science (broad programmes)
Humanities (broad programmes)
Social and behavioural science (broad programmes)
Physical science (broad programmes)
Health (broad programmes)